Advertisements

Posts Tagged ‘photography’

Pickin’ n’ Grinnin’

Monday, 7 May 2018

[Found here. Date & location unknown.]

Advertisements

Invisibility Pants

Tuesday, 24 April 2018

[Found here.]

Scaffolding.

Wednesday, 18 April 2018

[Found here.]

Oh crap. Sand leeches again.

Tuesday, 3 April 2018

[Found here.]

Policing The Strip

Tuesday, 27 March 2018

The girl you won’t forget.”

[Found here.]

Nothing much happened today.

Monday, 26 March 2018

Her mama’s in the mirror.

[Found here.]

Water Carrier ca. 1910

Tuesday, 20 March 2018

 

A water-carrier in Samarkand (present-day Uzbekistan), ca. 1910.

[Found here.]

Jupiter II, III & IV

Wednesday, 7 March 2018

Nobody knows what happened to the Jupiter I. It’s assumed that the ship crash-landed on a distant planet and the survivors were eaten by giant mountain ice weasels.

That’s a photo shoot for Mad Magazine‘s 1966 spoof, “Loused Up In Space” [courtesy Zorro Jr.].

[Top photo by Piotr Krzaczkowski of Śnieżka, found here, and yes, that’s his daily commute.]

Dog Farts. They make me laugh.

Thursday, 22 February 2018

[Found here.]

497-519 Broadway, New York City 1853-55 and now

Monday, 5 February 2018

I spotted that in a collection of photos with the description:

Broadway looking north from between Grand and Broome Streets in New York City, 1853–55.

The photo includes visible addresses, so I decided to take a drive down Grand [via Google Maps] and look for 497, 499, 501 & 519 Broadway.

A lot changed in +160 years. Some buildings were razed and rebuilt, others have been refaced, but a few are still there, like the large white building, the 2nd building closer (with the fire escape), and the one on the far right of the top image.

Also note that there is a blurry horse pulling a trolley in the top photo and a car named after a horse in the other, and if the drivers swapped places in time, neither one would know how to steer.


%d bloggers like this: